Woe is me!

Oh! The melodrama!

But honestly, I have never been so AWARE of my sinuses. The unholy pressure. I have new respect for the havoc my own body can wreak upon me.

I spent most of Monday trying desperately not to lay my head down at my desk and just. Give. Up. It hurt so bad. I wanted my soft, cushy bed and some hot tea and possibly to never wake up again. I could barely touch my eyebrows without wincing, and don’t even get me started on the pressure point business my ex-massage therapist aunt suggested because OMFG OUCH. Did not help. Come to think of it, neither did Tylenol, Ibuprofen or Sudafed.

Tuesday I got as far as taking a shower before I sat down on the couch, clutching my make-up bag to my chest, and stared at the floor with all the lights off in the apartment. Zack found me this way and gently suggested that perhaps I should, um, not go stare at a computer screen all day. To which I replied something along the lines of “Mrphfhiaong” and called in sick. I then proceeded to alternately sleep and catch myself up on this season of Fringe, which has been waiting patiently for me on the DVR. Also there was an SVU marathon on that I didn’t completely ignore.

Today I woke up and I still have a headache. It’s not the throbbing, stabby pressure of the past few days, but it’s present and just bad enough that I can’t really ignore it. But it’s not debilitating, either, so I’ll take what I can get. I have made my triumphant return to work! I am less excited about that than the previous sentence may imply.

On a totally unrelated note, Zack and I have been tasked with finding a good crock pot entree as our contribution to Thanksgiving dinner. Any recipe suggestions?

 

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Woe is me!

  1. Anne says:

    Curry Butternut Squash Soup:
    http://www.thegirlwho.net/journal/2009/10/16/curried-butternut-squash-soup-and-crock-pot-giveaway.html

    It is AWESOME. Wife added an entire stick of butter to it and it got even BETTER. Super easy, and super good.

    • Austin says:

      YUM!

      Zack is leaning toward making meatballs, which I’m all “whatever” about, and also I’m not convinced I can get him to agree to trying like, butternut squash AND curry MIXED TOGETHER IN ONE DISH. But so help me, I am making this soup! Perhaps I will eat it for lunch (and lunch and lunch and lunch because holy smokes, that is a lot of soup!). Thanks for the recipe!

      PS: Mmmm, butter.

  2. Anne says:

    It freezes really well, so you don’t have to eat it for 4,000 meals in a row. We have a bunch of bags of it in our freezer still.

Leave a Reply

