A Very Procrastinatory Thanksgiving

We are heading to Minnesota in less than an hour with all the rest of the holiday traffic awesomeness that is, I’m sure, building up as I type.

All the grocery stores are closed tomorrow in my husband’s hometown. I mean, I already knew Minnesota was a leetle backwards because you can’t buy booze there on Sundays. Anywhere. Period. (It’s a good thing the Wisconsin border’s only 30 minutes away from the Twin Cities or Zack would NEVER have gotten me to agree to live there). But to close all sources of food procurement on a day that is ALL ABOUT THE FOOD? Now that’s just batshit insane.

You know what else is batshit insane? The fact that we’ve been asked to contribute some sort of “main dish” to Thanksgiving dinner that doesn’t require oven use (since the turkey will dominate the oven tomorrow) and we have no idea what we’re going to make. Isn’t that hilarious? I mean, we’re going to be driving I don’t even know how many hours without a clue as to what we are going to make and we are banking on getting to the grocery store tonight after we arrive at his parents’ house. Hahaaaa. I just think that is the cutest Thanksgiving story ever.

Can you tell I am too much of a control freak to have picked this scenario?

Had it been up to me, I would have chosen the dish sometime last week, shopped for the ingredients during my grocery trip on Sunday, hauled all perishables north in a cooler, and sat myself down with a big glass of wine tonight when we arrive.

But for some reason I don’t really understand, we’ve left it until the very last possible second and you know? I’m a little irritated.

For the record, I am not really irritated with Zack. He’s been working his ass off on a huge paper that fulfills a writing requirement for his degree, so I get that Thanksgiving prep has sort of taken a backseat. I’m annoyed that I didn’t just push a little to make a decision and do the shopping, rather than allow the procrastination that I KNEW would make me anxious come today.

So! I’m going to spend the rest of my few minutes pre-car ride browsing the Interwebs for crock pot recipes that could be crowd-pleasers. We’ll compile a grocery list in the car and my glass of wine will still be waiting for me when I get back from the store tonight. It is not the end of the world. I’m actually very much looking forward to this trip.

After all, I get to see this face!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! Catch ya next week.

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “A Very Procrastinatory Thanksgiving

  1. Sabrina says:

    For the record, I think having stores closed on holidays is a GREAT idea. It’s not like people didn’t know the holiday was coming. It didn’t sneak up on anyone. Plan ahead, people! That way EVERYONE can spend the holiday with their family and friends… as it should be. That is my two cents.

    Getting down off my soap box now.

    (Gee, do you think maybe I work retail?)

    • Austin says:

      Yes, agreed. The holiday did not sneak up on us. However, for travelers who wish to contribute to the holiday meal having a place or two open can be a real life saver!

      If I worked in retail I would probably share your opinion. But for now I will remain on my high horse. Maybe I can wave at you on your soap box 🙂

Leave a Reply

