Under Pressure

Greetings from my couch! Where I am about ready to drive the TV remote through my skull from boredom.

I’m on day two of doctor-ordered bed rest and man, it really sucks.

I flew home to Illinois for my baby shower on Friday evening and by the end of my shower early Saturday afternoon my feet and ankles looked like sausages about to burst out of their casing, I had one toe instead of five at the end of each foot, and there was some nasty pitting going on in my ankles (pitting is when you swell and push on the swollen body part and it leaves an indent; your skin should pop back up immediately after you remove the pressure and you shouldn’t be able to see where you’d just pushed).

My mom and my stepsister are both in the medical field and insisted that I encouraged me to call my after-hours care line and make sure I didn’t need to go to the ER. After a lengthy conversation with the nurse we determined that I needed to keep my feet up and drink lots of water. My blood pressure has always been on the low side, around 110/60, but since my 28 week appointment it’s been trending slightly upward, which the nurse wasn’t thrilled with, but she said I’d be okay to fly home the following day. So I did.

By Sunday, after being laid up since 2PM the previous day, my feet were FINALLY looking normal and feeling almost normal. Then the plane ride home went and sent everything to hell. I arrived in Minneapolis nauseous, headache-y, and with swollen, pitting feet. Blurgh.

We called the after-hours nurse line AGAIN and I was told AGAIN to stay off the feet, drink water and take some Tylenol with food. The nausea and headache eventually subsided and the swelling got better as I stayed off my feet. We were also asked to go have my blood pressure taken at Walgreens, where I got a higher reading than I’d had yet, though not what would normally be considered too high. I’ve taken my BP so many times since then I don’t remember what the reading was exactly. The following day I went back to the drugstore, took my BP three more times and received even higher readings, prompting my doctor to put me to bed until my routine office visit tomorrow afternoon.

I am really confused by the ups and downs of my blood pressure. I don’t know what to be worried about other than my very serious desire to not be put on bed rest past Wednesday. I’d also really like to continue working for a couple more weeks so we can utilize my flight benefits a bit longer. I’m having a tough time staying occupied on the couch and not being able to do anything around the house has been KILLING ME. I don’t know if it’s nesting or what, but having a messy kitchen and a cluttered living room and a fur-filled floor is making me crazy. Everyone that lives here who isn’t me works 10+ hours a day and doesn’t really give a crap about cleaning when they finally come home. Understandable, but no less crazy-inducing for me.

All this lying around has given me ample time to hang out with the pets, though.

Ella + Lopsided Baby Belly

Please keep your fingers crossed that the doctor gives me the all clear to get out of bed tomorrow!

 

One thought on “Under Pressure

  1. Sue says:

    Your Mother and step-sister sound like wise women (especially your mom). You should listen and be glad they were there to give you advise.

Leave a Reply

