CDP Exchange: A Few Getting To Know You Questions

Hi there!

I’m posting this as part of a getting-to-know-you effort for the CDP Exchange  (which, as far as I know, is still open for registrants if you want to click that little link there and check it out). If you aren’t participating in the exchange then please just enjoy getting to know me a bit better or feel free to skip this entry entirely. Maybe one day I will blog more reliably (haaaahahaha. Ha.)

  • Who was your favorite celebrity as a child? I am embarrassed to admit that I had a giant angsty teen crush on Jonathan Taylor Thomas and Devon Sawa.
  • What type of pets do you have? One dog, Arlo, a beagle hound mix. Two cats, Ella, the queen of the household, and Sappho, the scaredest scaredy-cat ever.
  • What is your favorite color? green or dark purple
  • What is most memorable about your high school years? Being in the teen choir at my church, which my mom and step-dad directed.
  • What word describes you best? Can I pick a couple? Dependable, compassionate, tender-hearted
  • What is your greatest accomplishment? My daughter.
  • What drives you every day? My family and a healthy dose of caffeine.
  • What is your favorite food? Thai or Indian food. I looooove spicy food and all curries.
  • Where do you want to retire? I’d love to have a condo somewhere tropical to visit as we please but ultimately I really hope my kids decide to settle near us so we can see them and any grandkids often. I live far away from my parents and it sucks. As a new parent I can’t imagine my daughter being hundreds of miles away from me on a permanent basis.
  • What is your business goal this year? Keep making my part-time job work!
  • Where do you like to vacation? Warm places, new places. If I am leaving Nora I’d like it to be a more luxurious trip (think sleeping in a bit and strolling versus up and out early every day and nose to the grindstone in order to fit everything in we want to do). Maybe in another stage of life I’ll feel more adventurous.
  • Who do you admire? My husband. He’s just a genuinely good and brilliant person. My sister, who is so dedicated to doing the right thing and helping people.
  • What is your mission? Be the best mom and wife I can be. Listen to people with an open mind. Take care of the relationships in my life that are dear to me. Try not to be so easily hurt and, related, give people the benefit of the doubt.
  • If you were invisible, where would you go? Is this the part where I admit how nosy I am?
  • What traits in others are you attracted to? Kindness and compassion. Good humor. Intelligence.
  • What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you? Forgiven me.
  • How do you want to be remembered? As a person who did her best.
  • What would you do with a million dollars? Make sure my parents and siblings are financially sound, save for Nora’s education and our retirement, remodel our house. Probably buy a boat.
  • If you were on an island, who would you want to be with? Why? My husband. That’s why I married him!
  • You have a 10 minute speech to give at a high school, what is it about? Be kind to yourself and to everyone you meet; you never know what journey they are on or how they may be hurting. Give yourself and others the benefit of the doubt. Forgive easily.
Leave a Reply

